Time For a Change

It’s time for a change. Plain and simple.

I have had this tiny corner of the internet since early 2010, and I have loved it. Yet, over the past couple years, I have found myself less and less inspired to write. When I started this blog, the premise was to follow my journey as a grad student intern during a summer in Oregon, and then again during the following school year while I was interning at UW-Madison. Then I chronicled my first few years as a new professional in the world of higher education. While I’ve always shared my travels and photography, the core of this blog has always been my work in higher education. It was a great way for me to process my internships and starting my position in Duluth. And now, I share very little here. It makes me sad because I do love blogging, writing, and sharing. One thing to understand is that a major portion of my work as a career counselor is doing the social media for my office. Among those platforms is a blog, and it’s all about career-related topics. While I am not a main writer for the office blog, I am working on it just about every day. With the work on the office blog, along with all of the other social media I do for my job, I have found myself drifting away from social media in my personal life (with a few exceptions). I felt that the premise of my blog was too closely tied to work, and I like to have a fairly clear separation between work and the rest of life. I have found myself on many occasions wanting to write about some topic but thinking it didn’t jive with the tone of the blog.

So, I’m making a change. The title, the premise, the look, everything.

I recently was watching Julie and Julia. It’s hands-down one of my favorite movies. If you haven’t seen it, here’s the quick version. Julie Powell is lost in her life as she’s turning 30. She loves to cook. She decides to cook her way through Julia Child’s cookbook in a year, and blog about it. I’m always inspired when I watch this movie. While I was watching it the other day, I thought about starting a completely new blog. One that was separate from my career and focused on the things I love outside of work. A place where I could share about scrapbooking, traveling, or updating my family cookbook, and not have it feel weird or “off-brand.” I realized, though, that I didn’t want to have a completely separate blog to manage. It seemed unnecessary. So, we’ll stay here at ellenhatfield.wordpress.com and spruce the place up a bit.

Here are a few things to know as we move forward:
I like to make things. I like to play with paper. I like to cook and, on occasion, bake. I like to capture moments in time. I like to travel. I like to read books and watch movies. I like to choose joy on a regular basis.

So here’s what I came up with: Ellen Makes Things.

Thanks for sticking around all these years. Or, welcome to the party, if you’re new. I make no promises about the consistency of posting. But I do promise I’m going to have fun sharing whatever I decide to make.

Leave a Reply

