What Makes Me Happy

My default mode is positive, optimistic, happy, however you want to describe it. This doesn’t mean I never get sad or upset. I just choose to look at the world with a glass-half-full attitude. This past week I started reading the book The Happiness Project with my blog friend Stephanie. The author started her year-long happiness project not because she was sad, she just thought her happiness could be greater.

As I was reading the lengthy intro and first chapter, I started thinking about what makes me happy. I also thought about what could make me happier, or things I think would definitely contribute to my happiness. Here’s my happiness list I brainstormed:

  • Documenting! (Love capturing the everyday, the special, & the beautiful)
    • Project Life
    • Scrapbooking, in general
    • Photography (especially nature)
    • Blogging
  • Color!
  • Expressing my creativity
  • Good design & typography
  • Reading
    • Books & blogs
  • Witnessing the creativity of others
    • In-person, Instagram, Pinterest, Blogs I read
  • Spending time with and talking to my family and friends
  • Music
  • Creating/Working on projects
    • Knitting & crocheting especially
  • Personal touches in addition to a well-thought out décor design
    • Show that you are actually investing yourself in your space
  • Talking to people who work in Higher Ed and what they’re excited about by the field
  • Crossing or checking off things on my to-do list
  • Helping/working with students
    • Love helping to celebrate their successes
    • Proud to watch them grow (especially my Peer Educators!)
  • Traveling
  • Coffee
  • Returning to my Favorites
    • Books: Pride & Prejudice, HP series, Divergent series
    • TV Shows: Gilmore Girls, West Wing, Army Wives
    • Movies: Julie & Julia, Jane Austen Book Club, Pride & Prejudice, The Devil Wears Prada, The Holiday
  • Fresh, in-season strawberries
  • Smell of fresh cut hay
  • Spending time next to Lake Superior (beach, walks, parks)
  • National & State Parks
  • Hiking
  • Really getting to know the students who work in my office
  • Singing to music really loudly in my car
  • Being able to provide opportunities for my students (blogging, presenting, etc)

It’s quite a long list and I’m guessing not totally complete

After making my initial list, I started going through my Project Life albums to see if there was anything I missed. I came across this quote I had included in one of the weekly spreads, “It is not joy that makes us grateful, it is gratitude that makes us joyful.” Reading that quote caused me to pause and reflect. To have joy (or happiness) we need to have gratitude (or appreciation, awareness, thankfulness, etc). Even just going through the process of making my happiness list helped me appreciate and be grateful that there are so many things in my life that bring me joy and happiness.

What’s on your happiness list?

Leave a Reply

