Around Here – February Edition

Reading: just finished Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince and now I’m onto Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows. Seriously love these books.

HP 6

Watching: Season 3 and what has aired so far of Season 4 of Hart of Dixie. I forgot how much I enjoy that show. Some of it is just pure ridiculous, and that is what makes it great.

Progressing: I’ve read in a book for fun every day since January 1st. My goal is to read for fun every day this year.

Giving up: Said goodbye to soda for Lent. Hoping it’s a forever goodbye. However, the afternoon lack of alertness is a struggle.

Freezing: It’s been so cold here Duluth. The sunlight in the morning has been fantastic, but I’m so over winter.

Iced Tree Branch

Sunrise

Listening: The Wind and the Wave From the Wreckage album (discovered this great duo after their songs were used on Hart of Dixie); Maroon 5 album (late to the game on this one, but still really enjoy it); Alex & Sierra Scarecrow song (another find from Hart of Dixie); Kelly Clarkson’s new song Heartbeat Song

Making: Getting caught up on my Project Life album. Still loving this mode of documenting and can’t wait to wrap up my full second year of using this system of scrapbooking.

Encouraging: My students, as they do the work to prepare themselves for attending career fairs, applying for jobs and internships, and making some major life choices.

UM Job Fair

Snacking: Trying out Graze snack boxes thanks to Kendra. Healthy snacks sent right to my office! Here’s a referral code for you to try out your first box free: https://www.graze.com/us/p/ELLENH7WU

Enjoying: Early weekend mornings spent at Caribou Coffee getting things like professional development reading and blog planning done.

Book at Caribou

What have you been up to lately?

2 thoughts on “Around Here – February Edition

  1. Stephanie says:

    Love Hart of Dixie! Also I have read in a couple places that if you drink a cup of water around 2pm, it will help with the afternoon slump. Worth a try in your effort to stay away from soda!

    • ellenhatfield says:

      Yay! Another Hart of Dixie fan. I really do hope it’s not cancelled. I’ll have to try the water idea. I’m usually working on a water bottle throughout the day. I’ll just have to put more effort into the afternoon consumption. Now that I’m a month off of soda, the afternoon struggle is getting better. 😉

Leave a Reply

