Sunrise at Canal Park

I had every intention of writing a post about the first week of classes at UMD…and then I went and photographed sunrise this morning. Sunrise photos win. However, if you’re curious, I had a great first week of the semester. I got to do one of my favorite job duties, hiring new students. I love making that offer call. 🙂

Onto sunrise. Last summer, I photographed sunrise 3 times. This summer has been 0, up until today. We’re about to say goodbye to nice weather and I had no real commitments this weekend. So that made for perfect timing to get up and experience sunrise over Lake Superior. I decided to check out a new spot. I went down to the Canal Park area by the lighthouse and lift bridge. I wanted to try out this spot because I thought I might be able to get some cool lighthouse silhouette shots. I was right! The bonus was a docked ship.

Also, it was a nice reminder that my world doesn’t have to always focus on work (which it has been seemingly doing lately). I have to go out experience this lovely area that I live in. Well, I’ll let the photos speak for themselves.

Lighthouse

Lighthouse & Ship

Lighthouse Silhouette

Lighthouses, Ship & Sky

Lift Bridge

3 thoughts on “Sunrise at Canal Park

  1. julie says:

    Really pretty pictures. Looks like a professional photographer took them. My favorite are the first two in the sequence. julie

Leave a Reply

