Lately

This past week was an interesting one. On Tuesday, I co-presented with my friend Jessi for 2 presentations at our Student Life Spring Retreat. Both presentations revolved around social media. Session 1 was more Q&A style and the other one was about blogging & Twitter. It was fun to do some knowledge sharing with colleagues in my division. Wednesday marked the arrival of my sister. She was visiting for a couple days since she was going to be attending a library conference in Superior on Friday. Thursday was probably the big day of the week. I had my first major dental work done. I’ve had to endure a few fillings before, but nothing major. The week before I went on vacation, half of a tooth broke off. I was in no pain (that happened the week before when I probably actually cracked the sucker) so I held off actually going to the dentist until after my vacation. So Thursday, I had a root canal, a screw (yes an actual metal screw) put in where the nerve had been, and a tooth-like contraption put in place of where the tooth had been. It’s sore (and will be for a while), but not unbearable. However, I can’t chew on that side of my mouth and I’ve just been eating soft foods. Do you know how hard it is to figure out soft foods to eat? It’s been a bit of a challenge. So far, it’s been yogurt, smoothies, soup, oatmeal, soft fruits, ice cream, and some pasta. If you have any other food ideas, please let me know. It’s been a challenge to incorporate veggies (spinach is going into the smoothies) as they are rather hard.

Homemade smoothie - banana, strawberry, spinach, vanilla greek yogurt, & orange juice. Just what the doctor ordered.

Homemade smoothie – banana, strawberry, spinach, vanilla greek yogurt, & orange juice. Just what the doctor ordered.

Anyway, enough with my dental saga (it’s not actually over though as I have 2 more visits scheduled to put a crown on the tooth). Julie was here until Saturday and we definitely enjoyed the time to hang out. We rented Identity Thief – funny, but not what we expected. We also enjoyed the nice weather on Saturday with a trip down to the Lakewalk. On Saturday evening, I also ventured down to the lake front to enjoy the nice weather. Good thing I did that as today is chilly and rainy. Here are some photos from my jaunts down to the lake front.

Beautiful morning on Lake Superior

Beautiful morning on Lake Superior

Green grass & budding trees - signs of Spring finally!

Green grass & budding trees – signs of Spring finally!

Julie striking a pose

Julie striking a pose

Ship going into port. Evening by the Lake.

Ship going into port. Evening by the Lake.

Rose garden by the Lake.

Rose garden by the Lake.

We finally have some tulips.

We finally have some tulips.

The gazebo at the Rose garden.

The gazebo at the Rose garden.

I think it’s safe to say that I fall in love with Duluth and Lake Superior a little more every day (even the days when it’s snowy, foggy, or rainy). All photos in today’s post were taking with my iPhone.

Hope you all have a wonderful Sunday!

Leave a Reply

