North Shore Adventures

I ventured up Lake Superior’s North Shore yesterday for some quality hiking at Gooseberry Falls State Park. In my mind, it was the perfect day to go hiking. It was 40s/50s, sunny, and a slight breeze. I also really wanted to see the different waterfalls peaking with all the snowmelt. The rushing river and overflowing waterfalls did not disappoint! I hiked the Fifth Falls Trail into the park, upstream on the Gooseberry River (aka: away from the Lake Superior shoreline & the crowds). It was my 3rd time hiking this trail and I still love it. I try to hike it earlyish in the spring because Gooseberry is extremely popular once tourist season is in full swing. I had some fun with my dSLR camera, but I still need to look through and edit those images. So, here are a few shots I took on my iPhone.

The main waterfalls at Gooseberry

The main waterfalls at Gooseberry

Rushing water between the 4th and 5th waterfalls upstream on the Gooseberry River

Rushing water between the 4th and 5th waterfalls upstream on the Gooseberry River

My snack time view - bridge goes over the 5th waterfall of the "Fifth Falls Trail"

My snack time view – bridge goes over the 5th waterfall of the “Fifth Falls Trail”

I also spent some time on my favorite beach at Flood Bay just north of Two Harbors. Found some beautiful rocks and loved listening to the rhythm of the waves.

Hanging out on the beach at Flood Bay

Hanging out on the beach at Flood Bay

Leave a Reply

