Birthday Week, Part 1

Turned 30 this past Friday.

I can’t say that I feel any different now that I’ve entered this new decade of my life. Maybe I should give myself more than 2 days before I reflect upon that. 🙂 One thing that I do know is that I’ve had quite the birthday week. It all kicked off on Monday with yet another snow storm. Seriously, how much more snow are we going to get? Hopefully (crossing fingers), the snow is done. This was the scene on my car on Tuesday morning.

My car after the April 22nd snow

My car after the April 22nd snow

One thing I couldn’t deny was how beautiful the snow was hanging on all the tree branches. But it was April 23rd!

Darland Administration building at UMD

Darland Administration building at UMD

Beautiful snow on the tree

Beautiful snow a tree at UMD

I also finally got my Minnesota driver’s license on Tuesday morning. It was on my 29 for 29 list and I figured it would be kind of ridiculous if I didn’t get it done. So, I’m officially a Minnesotan. I do know that I’ll always be a Wisconsin girl at heart.

My yellow paper - temp license until the real one comes in the mail.

My yellow paper – temp license until the real one comes in the mail.

Tuesday was also when we had birthday cake in the office. We get a cake every couple months to celebrate the birthdays in the office. It was chocolate raspberry and delicious!

Birthday cake #1

Birthday cake #1

Next up: I only had to work 2.5 days in the office this week. The reason? I had a conference in the Twin Cities on Thursday and Friday. After traveling down on Wednesday afternoon, my boss and I (there were 4 of us from my office at the conference) ventured to Edina (a southern suburb of the Twin Cities) for dinner and fun shopping. I had my first experiences with Paper Source and Anthropologie. So fabulous! We also ventured to West Elm (the same one as the Young House Love book signing) and the Container Store. West Elm had this fabulous table of paper flowers when you first walked into the store. Made you feel like spring was finally arriving.

West Elm flowers

West Elm flowers

I have so much more to share about my birthday week. I’ll be back tomorrow with my fun and frivolity. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Birthday Week, Part 1

Leave a Reply

