Documentation

For the last couple months I’ve been furiously working on scrapbooking my 2010 summer out west. I started working on this adventure a couple months after I returned from Oregon. And then I stopped. For almost 2 years. In all fairness, I did have my final semester of grad school, job hunting, graduation, moving, starting a new job, and acclimating to a new city all in there. Plus, with any crafting, you’ve got to be in the mood to do it. Well, at least I do. Finishing my scrapbooks for summer 2010 was placed on my 29 for 29 list in hopes that I would finally finish this massive project. With my 30 birthday in less than a week, I’m sad to share that I won’t get it all finished.

One of the 3 scrapbooks already a part of this project.

One of the 3 scrapbooks already a part of this project.

 

However, I’ve made great strides to get this project completed. All the pictures are printed. That alone is a feat as the 8 day road trip out to Oregon was well documented by 2 very enthusiastic photographers. Before I started this project back up during the winter, I had scrapbooked the following: start of road trip (WI & MN), Falls Park in SD, Mount Rushmore, Wallowa Lake State Park, and most of the trip up to the Terra Blanca Winery. I have since completed: Badlands National Park, Crazy Horse Memorial, Black Hills, Devils Tower, Wyoming, Yellowstone National Park (YNP got its own book), Grand Teton National Park/Jackson Hole, Idaho, Oregon Trail, driving across Washington, finished Terra Blanca Winery, and parts of the Olympic Peninsula (Port Angeles and Lake Crescent are done!).

Here are the events I still have left to finish: Forks, Olympic National Park & Forest, rest of Washington, Columbia River Gorge (May visit), EOU, La Grande, Baker City, Catherine Creek State Park, Columbia River Gorge (July visit), downtown Portland, Hoyt Arboretum, Rose Test Garden, Japanese Garden, Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site, Montana, and Theodore Roosevelt National Park. See, I still have a lot left to go.

Anyway, I just wanted to share some of my favorite layouts that I’ve used so far. Two layouts were inspired by layouts I found through Pinterest. First up is a 9 photo grid that I found on Kam’s blog Campfire Chic.

Original inspiration from Kam

Original inspiration from Kam

My version of the 9 photo grid

My version of the 9 photo grid

Since one of my main issues with this project is the overabundance of photos, this layout works great. I’ve used this layout numerous times throughout the project so far.

Here’s another layout I was inspired by.

original inspiration

original inspiration

My interpretation of the Ireland page

My interpretation of the Ireland page

Here are the rest of the page layouts that I really like from the Summer Out West project. I have found myself gravitating towards solid colors, neutrals with a splash of color in the matting, and minimal embellishments.

Love just having the 3 photos and then the sticker of info about Grand Teton NP.

Love just having the 3 photos and then the sticker of info about Grand Teton NP.

Olympic Peninsula. Chose to use a soft yellow to coordinate with all of the green and blue in the photos.

Olympic Peninsula. Chose to use a soft yellow to coordinate with all of the green and blue in the photos.

Had fun with a bold purple and a corner punch for the Yellowstone NP layout.

Had fun with a bold purple and a corner punch for the Yellowstone NP layout.

Created my own border with scrap paper and a "You are here" stamp.

Created my own border with scrap paper and a “You are here” stamp.

Just because it has taken me a while to get rolling on this project doesn’t mean I forgot about it. I’ve been accumulating papers and embellishments all along that I think would go well with theme of the project. The “You are Here” stamp is from Elise Blaha Cripe’s stamp shop. Love it!

Also incorporating photo album pages.

Also incorporating photo album pages.

I am incorporating photo album pages throughout the project, too. It’s another way to show a lot of photos without having to do a lot of work. On these pages and on actual layout pages, I’m incorporating blog posts that I wrote about the trip. These have been a life saver because the details were captured within a month of visiting the different places. I wouldn’t be able to remember half those details if I was trying to put that journaling together now. The cards are from the Project Life Seafoam Kit designed by Elise Blaha Cripe. The cards are already designed to document life, so they are great for writing old blog posts on.

Devils Tower. Way to incorporate memorabilia gathered at the spot.

Devils Tower. Way to incorporate memorabilia gathered at the spot. Also including copies of National Park Passport cancellations from each NPS site visited.

I like how the 4 photos meet in one spot.

I like how the 4 photos meet in one spot.

So what do you think of my scrapbook layouts? I have a long way to go before finishing this project, and I’m pleased with what I’ve completed so far.

3 thoughts on “Documentation

  1. julie says:

    I really like your layouts, especially the one of the Olympic Peninsula with the soft yellow borders. the yellow really pops. next you will have to do something with our trip out West! julie

Leave a Reply

