The Power of 3s

Tomorrow, March 4th, my little slice of the internet turns 3. That’s right, Student Affairs Explorer is 3 years old! I feel like I just started this blog yesterday, and yet, I feel like I’ve been writing on it forever.

If you’re newer to the blog, here’s a little reminder of where it all started. I got a summer internship in Oregon in 2010. I was embarking on an adventure and I wanted to share it. I wanted to reflect on the experience. Since that fateful March day when I signed up for a WordPress account, a lot has happened. I interned in Oregon, I interned at UW-Madison, I graduated with my Master’s degree from UW-Whitewater, I found a job, I moved to northern Minnesota, I started my job, I’ve traveled, I’ve gone to conferences, I have had great spurts of writing/sharing activity, and I have had times of quietness. And it’s all chronicled on the blog.

Me with one of my favs (my Canon Rebel)

Me with one of my favs (my Canon Rebel)

I have felt privileged to be able to write on here for the past 3 years. I am also grateful that each of you take the time to read, to like, to comment, to share, etc. I thought I’d take a moment to share what I’ve learned from the past 3 years of blogging.

You don’t always have to stick to a schedule.

I’m a fairly confident J on the MBTI. I’m a planner. I like schedules. I love a good list. I love, even more, crossing things off that list. What I’ve learned from blogging is that no matter how much I think I want to keep some sort of an editorial schedule for the blog, I don’t. I’ve tried. It doesn’t always work. What I’ve come to realize is that for me, a structured schedule doesn’t really matter. I don’t depend on my blog for income like some of the blogs that I follow. I use it as a space for me, to reflect, to share. If I don’t feel like reflecting or sharing, why should I force it? I like following the schedule of: I’m inspired to write about X topic, so I will. It’s my creative side rebelling against my structured side. I like it. 🙂

012

My blog is my voice.

After attending the ACPA National Convention last year in Louisville, I wrote about what I wanted my voice at the table to be. What do I want to say, where do I want to say it, and when do I want to say it? While that post was about my voice in my profession, I think of my blog as my voice in life. I have written about everything from the anniversary of 9/11 to reflecting about conferences to career lessons from The Hunger Games to my career goals. I write about what inspires me, what captures my attention. Sometimes that is a book, seeing sunrise and capturing that moment, or chronicling what my day is like. I love that I have my voice and that I share it. That’s really the important part, right? Sharing what you think. Overall, I think I’m just better at taking time to reflect and deciding on what I want to say – both professionally and outside of my job. Having the blog has helped me improve that skill.

Me at the Inner Harbor in Baltimore

Me at the Inner Harbor in Baltimore

It’s fun.

What it all comes down to is that blogging, for me, is fun. I wouldn’t keep writing if it wasn’t. I love that am inspired by my profession and the world around me, and that in turn fuels my inspiration to write. I like to chronicle things, ideas, events, etc. I’m a scrapbooker, so in my mind having a blog is a very natural thing to do. Instead of using paper and embellishments, I use words, photos, and the power of the internet.

Pacific Ocean at Olympic National Park

Pacific Ocean at Olympic National Park

Well, it’s been 3 great years of blogging. Here’s to many more!

Note about the photos in the post: they were picked at random. All of them have been on the blog before. I didn’t pick them for any reason other than I liked them while I was scrolling through the blog’s media library. 🙂

Leave a Reply

