Recommended Consumption

I was going to call this post “Recommended Reads” and then I realized that I wanted to recommend a couple movies to watch. Hence the title, “Recommended Consumption.” I have no clue if this will be a regular type of post or an anomaly. We’ll just have to see what happens. Wow, that was almost like Bravo channel’s tagline “Watch What Happens.” Anyway, here are some of the things I would recommend you checking out.

Reads:

Wild – Cheryl Strayed. I recently finished this novel and loved it. It is a memoir that chronicles the death of the author’s mother and how she deals with that death. The bulk of the novel takes place while the author hikes a large section of the Pacific Crest Trail in California and Oregon.

The Daily Muse – website that I recently started following more closely for work. It has some fantastic articles for job search and career related items.

Peer Into Your Career – the blog written by the students I supervise. Recently they’ve covered topics like increasing productivity, grad school, shoes to wear, and studying abroad. If you like what you read over there, please comment. The students love getting feedback about their work!

Comprising Kendra – Kendra started blogging again! I am super excited to see where she takes her blog now.

10 Quick Stress Relief Strategies for a Crazy Schedule – Anna from Classy Career Girl (one of my fav career blogs)

Simple tips for self-portraits – Elise at enJOY it

Watch & Listen:

Freakanomics podcast. Yes, I’m recommending a podcast related to economics. It surprises me too. I like listening to this podcast while either doing low-key stuff at work or while scrapbooking. They make economics a little easier to understand.

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen – Kendra and I rented this movie last Friday and I highly enjoyed it. I was pleasantly surprised by this British film since I had only first heard about it while watching the Golden Globes.

Silver Linings Playbook – another great movie I just saw in the theater. Bradley Cooper plays a character dealing with diagnosed bipolar disorder. It was a fascinating movie that had great comedic moments without trying to be a comedy movie.

Dance Academy has been my Netflix favorite this week. I seriously flew through the 2 seasons available in about 3 days. Yeah, I didn’t do too much else over the weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

