Social Media for Educators

I finished a book yesterday! It was rather exciting. 🙂 Back in June I started reading the book Social Media for Educators: Best Practices & Strategies by Tanya Joosten. She’s a Communication faculty member at UW-Milwaukee, I follow her on Twitter and she has great things to say. I bought the e-book version and read about half of it on the plane ride from Minneapolis to San Francisco. Yeah, and I finally finished it yesterday…the semester was a little busy. The book shows how using social media can be incorporated into the classroom. I picked up a lot of good nuggets of information that I can use for running the social media for Career Services. After I finished reading the book, I started to type up my notes (both the passages I highlighted & extra notes I made). I really want to use the information from this book and typing it up in Evernote is the best way for me to start doing that. Here was my reaction to my notes – I was rather reflective on that flight back in June. Seriously. I was impressed with myself.

I came upon this gem at the end of the day yesterday:

“Timely reminders and course updates not only assisted students in managing their workload, but helped students stay on task, complete assignments by the due date, and enhance their performance in the course.” (pg 54)

      *my note* Meeting the student where they’re at or bending to the student because they don’t step up to how the university community conducts itself? Are we slacking on what we’re expecting of students – decorum? Probably a combination. I support meeting the student where they are at while educating them on how to act properly & ethically. Etiquette!

I just found this interesting. I don’t really have an answer to the question I posed in my notes. Are we letting students slack in expectations? Communication is such a vital skill that employers want and feel that students don’t really have when they get to the workplace. In the age of smart phones, social media, texting, e-mail, etc., are we all starting to slack on how we communicate with one another? Personally, I think we are. Nothing beats face-to-face communication. You see all of the nonverbals, you hear the tone of voice, and you can ask and answer questions immediately. You have more control over knowing that the message you are sending out is being received how you intended. Wow, my inner communication nerd is coming out. This is why I majored in Communication in undergrad, I find it fascinating.

Okay, back to the book. I found it interesting. I know that I’ll be able to use the information to help direct the work that I do with Career Services.

Here are my major takeaways:

  • Have a purpose when choosing your platforms of social media to use. Don’t just hop on it just because everyone else is. Have a purpose!
  • Practice on a small scale before launching a huge effort. In the book, she talked about using it individually before incorporating it into a class. It’s kind of like how I used Pinterest myself before proposing to my boss that we launch a page for the office.
  • Don’t be afraid. I’ve never been afraid of using social media and I do know that some people have hesitations.

That’s all I’ve got for now. If you work in Education and are a fan of social media, I highly recommend this book! Check out Tanya’s website.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

