Feeling Refreshed

I’ve been at UMD for just over a year. Can you believe it has been that long already? I can’t. Yet, at the same time I feel like I’ve been here for years. Not that long after I started at UMD, one of my dear friends became engaged and asked me to be in her wedding. I was honored to be asked and whole-heartedly accepted. The only snag in this otherwise glorious opportunity was that the wedding was to take place in the Milwaukee, WI, area…a whole 7-8 hour drive from Duluth. A weekend trip would not be enough time for really anything. So, my plan was hatched, save up vacation time (we earnΒ a certain number of hours with each pay check)Β so that I could take the week before and week after off. During that time I’d relax and reunite with friends and family that live the SE Wisconsin area. A roadtrip, if you will. πŸ™‚ Now that I’m a few days into my second week of vacation, I’m feeling fantastic about this decision. I’m feeling refreshed and re-energized. Reuniting with people has been great. My time away from the office has helped me to disconnect (as much as can be possible) and step away from the projects I’ve been immersing myself into this summer. Now that I’m in the calmer week of my vacation, I will be logging some time for my MBTI certification course. I’m excited to see how I feel once I’m back in the office. I hope the renewing sense extends through the rest of the summer and into the new school year.

Here are a few things I’ve done so far while on vacation. I’ve done more. These are just some highlights.

Wine tasting & tour of Wollersheim Winery with Ashley

Reunited with Ashley from grad school after a year of being apart.

Reunited with Kristen in Madison…the half-way point between Duluth & Toledo, OH.

Bascom Hall – Showed Kristen UW-Madison and we lunched with our friend Steph (another grad school classmate of mine).

 

Jenny & Marcus right before they exchanged vows. Such a wonderful day to witness a new family being born. πŸ™‚

The Bride & Bridesmaids! L to R: Me, Julie, Joann, Jenny, Jenise, Rachel, Becca, Jaimie

 

Did some exploring in Milwaukee and made my way to the Milwaukee Art Museum.

 

4 thoughts on “Feeling Refreshed

    • ellenhatfield says:

      It was an awesome moment. I’m surprised they didn’t shoo us all out of the area. I can’t wait to share more photos of the wedding. I should probably get onto editing those! Also, believe it or not, I didn’t find the idea on Pinterest (even though it is all over it now), I found it via a blog I read everyday….before Pinterest. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

