Hiking for Wellness

In the world of Student Affairs, we often talk about work/life balance, wellness, etc. Some people follow these principles more closely than others. I try not to bring my work home with me if at all possible. Because of my summer in Oregon a couple years ago, I fell in love with hiking. Hiking is my escape from the working world and my opportunity to enjoy the natural world. The opportunity to take care of myself, explore my photography hobby, to be active, and to have an adventure. I often return home refreshed and ready to tackle life.

A couple Saturdays ago, I ventured out for my first hike of the spring. I believe I tweeted something along the lines of, “Off to commune with nature.” I was blissfully happy. I drove up the North Shore to Gooseberry Falls State Park and hiked the Fifth Falls Trail. I wanted my first hike of the season to be something familiar. I first hiked this trail last July at the end of crazy hot spell we had last summer. Hiking it during early May was a totally different experience. It was refreshing to not be hot and sticky throughout the entire hike. I had the trail mostly to myself except for right at the beginning and end. It was nice to take my time and not feel rushed because of the people around me. Here are some of the moments I captured while on my hike.

Gooseberry Falls

Using layers of perspective between the tree and the water. Totally dropped my camera moments before this and had a mini-panic attack. Just ended up with a few scratches on the zoom knob.

Trees starting to leaf out

Some flower blooms in the woods

Bird sighting. No idea what it is though.

View of some waterfalls through the trees

Leave a Reply

