Working on My To-Do List

Last week for my birthday I declared my goals of the 29 things I want to accomplish while I’m 29. Good news, I’m working on it already!! I made the executive decision that the few days of April after my birthday, would count as the month of May.

To celebrate my birthday, I drove down to the Twin Cities for a birthday weekend extravaganza with my friend Carissa who was celebrating a birthday on Sunday. On Saturday, we met up with a few other people and strolled around Ikea and the Mall of America for the entire day. So much fun! While at MOA, we had dinner at a restaurant called Crave. It was beyond yummy! As appetizers, most of us opted for sushi. Drumroll… I tried a new food for the month. I’ve never had sushi, so I thought Saturday was as good of time as any to try it. I got a California roll, which has snow crab, cucumber, and avocado.

California roll from Crave

The other items from the “list” that I’ve tackled include making a dish posted on my Pinterest page and reading a professional development book.

Here’s the book: The Innovative University: Changing the DNA of Higher Education From the Inside Out. I’m reading it as part of a reading group sponsored by the Student Life division here at UMD.

Innovative University

The dish I made came originally from Iowa Girl Eats – one of my FAVORITE food blogs. Last week, she posted a recipe for Sweet Corn & Quinoa with Honey Lemon Vinaigrette. Here’s the link from my Pinterest page (just to prove I had pinned it. :)) I had some sweet corn left in my freezer from last summer that I was waiting for the right recipe to use it and I had a package of quinoa hanging out in my cupboard. So, I got the last few ingredients and tackled the dish on Monday night. For those of you new to quinoa, it is a grain from South America with a ton of protein. Anyway, back to the dish. I thought it was easy to make and tasty. However, I don’t think it’s my favorite thing I’ve made from IGE…that spot is reserved at the moment for Lemon Chicken Pasta.

Sweet Corn & Quinoa with Honey Lemon Vinaigrette

What I’m liking about having “the list,” is that it’s already pushing me to accomplish things and to try new things. I hope this keeps up for the rest of the year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

