29 for 29

I’m turning 29 today. I’m excited to celebrate and at the same time it’s a little sad to be entering the final year of my 20s. I’ve decided to tackle my 29th year by putting together a list of 29 things I’d like to accomplish during the year. I’ll be adding a tab at the top of the blog so that you can check in with my progress at any point during the year. I will be putting together a little legend so you can see which items are completed, in progress, or yet to be started. I imagine I’ll be blogging about each thing as I complete it. Without a further ado, here’s the list!

  1. Complete a 30 day photography challenge
  2. Visit Voyageurs National Park in northern Minnesota
  3. Finish scrapbooking my summer out West from 2010
  4. Complete a fitness challenge
  5. Make more Duluth friends
  6. Visit 5 new State Parks in either Minnesota or Wisconsin
  7. Read 5 professional development related books
  8. Climb Eagle Mountain, the highest point in Minnesota (I’ve been told it’s actually not that bad of a climb)
  9. Drive the entire North Shore – Duluth to Canada
  10. Try one new food or drink each month
  11. Save up for and purchase a DSLR camera
  12. Crochet a blanket
  13. Send more snail mail cards to friends and family
  14. Make at least 1 recipe a month found through Pinterest
  15. Make at least 1 craft a month found through Pinterest
  16. Take a road trip
  17. See the Northern lights
  18. Get my MN driver’s license
  19. Make a blog editorial schedule I can stick with
  20. Visit a zoo
  21. Photograph sunrise and sunset on the same day
  22. Figure out my next career goal
  23. Visit the Golden Gate Bridge during my trip to California
  24. Stick my hand (or feet) in Lake Superior during every season
  25. Attend at least 2 UMD Hockey games – one women’s & one men’s
  26. Invest more into my retirement fund
  27. Watch all of the Harry Potter movies back to back (yes, all 8 of them!)
  28. Kick my soda habit for good
  29. Be swept off my feet

So what do you think of my list? Want to tackle any of these things with me? To be honest, this list was harder to put together than I thought it would be. However, I’m excited with the list that I came up with. I think 29 is going to be an excellent year. 🙂

10 thoughts on “29 for 29

  1. Kendra says:

    Happy Birthday Ellen! I love the list – in fact, I may have to copy the idea for my 29th b-day in a few weeks 🙂 Hope you have an awesome day and I’ll see you at lunch!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Looks like a very commendable list! I’d like to volunteer to take you to the Madison Zoo when your here! Perhaps we can work on the Harry Potter Marithon too! Perhaps we could do New Glaris Woods State Park and then check out the brewery. You know me, I’m up for anything!

  3. julie says:

    I want to visit voyeguers national park, drive to canada, and watch all the H.P. movies back to back with you! But I’m not sure about kicking soda. Julie

Leave a Reply

