Spring Music Motivation

Music has been a core part of me for as long as I can remember. I have memories attached to songs. When I hear a certain song, I often can be transported back to a period of time or place. For example, if I hear Gwen Stefani’s Sweet Escape, Fergie’s Glamourous, or Peter Bjorn & John’s Young Folks, I am instantly transported back to the first summer I worked at Pier 1 imports. Those 3 songs were on the cd that continually played on our PA system. Anyway, I’ve been itching for a new mix cd to play in my car. What can I say, I have a very long commute of 5 minutes (8 minutes if there’s a decent amount of traffic). 🙂

With spring upon us, I decided last Friday, while eating breakfast before work, to quick put together a new car cd for the 3 hour trip home to my parents’ house. Here’s the playlist. Some of it is newish and some of it’s old. I’m a fan.

  • Ain’t No Mountain High – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell
  • Brooklyn Blurs – The Paper Raincoat
  • Cathedrals – Jump Little Children
  • Cough Syrup – Glee
  • Eleanor Rigby – The Beatles
  • Glad You Came – Glee
  • Just for Now – Imogen Heap
  • Perfect – Glee
  • Strawberry Swing – Coldplay (Concert Version from Left Right Left Right Left)
  • Super Bass – Nicki Minaj
  • Tidal – Imogen Heap
  • We Are Young – Glee
  • Welcome Home – Radical Face
  • What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger) – Kelly Clarkson
  • Without You – Glee
  • Wonderwall – Ryan Adams
  • Young Folks – Peter Bjorn & John

What are you listening to lately? Do you have any song or artist recommendations for me?

Leave a Reply

