Happy Everyone Thinks They’re Irish Day!

Spring Break is almost done. This makes me a  little sad and at the same time happy. I’m looking forward to having more students in my office as they start realizing that they are graduating and have really no idea what they are doing after May 12th (graduation). The week or so right after Spring Break tends to be when the panic sets in for those students. As freaked out as these students are, I really enjoy helping them start to figure out the answers to those big questions (i.e. what the heck am I going to do with the rest of my life?). It’s the meat of career counseling. 🙂 What I’ll hear most is…”I wish I had come in sooner.” I will promptly answer, “Well, you’re here now, let’s do as much as work as we can.” In my head, I’ll probably also add, “Duh.”

Okay, so it has been an absolutely beautiful week this week. Today alone, we set a new record high. My weather.com app said 74* when I got back from my walk this afternoon. 74*!!! In Northern MN! In the middle of March! It’s awesome. However, there’s also part of me wondering…if it’s this warm already, what will the summer be like? I guess only time will tell. I took full advantage of the weather this week. I was down on the Lakewalk 4 times! Let’s start with today.

My hand in the water. It’s a little hard to tell since it was a spot that was sheltered from the waves by some rocks.

I added movement to the water.

Yesterday was a bit windier with a cool breeze coming off the water.

Yesterday’s waves via Instagram (a fun photo editing app on my phone).

I mentioned in my last post that my parents were here last weekend. The three of us took a more leisurely stroll on the lakewalk (as opposed to the rest of this week when I power walked and earned my sweat) and made our way all the way down to Canal Park. We spent some time on the beach and eventually had lunch before making our way back to the car.

Aerial Lift bridge

This next week will be a busy one. My sister will be staying with me because it’s her Spring Break! I’m super excited for her to arrive. My office is participating in a campus-wide event for which I have several small projects I need to complete. And…I’ll be heading to Louisville next Saturday for ACPA!! I’m thrilled to be reunited with my friend Steph for this conference (just in case I haven’t made that known yet). I don’t how much blogging I’ll be able to do while I’m at the conference just because I’m only taking my iPad, no laptop. If anything, I’ll do a full recap, once I’m home.

Hope you’re enjoying the beautiful weather!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

P.S. I’m actually part Irish, so I can legitimately celebrate. 😉

Leave a Reply

