Breaking into Spring

It’s Spring Break here in the Northland…which means work is super quiet. Yay! As much as I love working with students day in and day out, it’s nice to have the day to myself sometimes. I’ve used my time to get ready for the conference I’m going to at the end of the month, to work on a couple long-term projects I have, and to prep for an event on-campus our office is participating in next week.

My Spring Break kicked off with a weekend visit from my parents. We spent a very strenuous (insert “Sarcasm” sign a la Big Bang Theory) weekend of eating out and enjoying the nice weather by walking on the Lakewalk. I still need to go through my photos from the weekend so I should have those up in the next day or two. Here’s a photo I snapped with my phone…my brand new iPhone 4S! I’ve had an iPhone 3G for the last 2 years, so it was absolutely wonderful to upgrade finally.

Lake Superior from the shore by Canal Park

With my parents came a brand new bookcase my dad built for me. On Monday evening I finally put binders from grad school and books on it and did some styling. It’s mind boggling the amount of books I could actually stuff onto that thing. However, I think it’ll always be a mix between books and decor.

My new bookcase!

The weather has been absolutely gorgeous this week. We’ve had temps in the 50s and there’s promise of warmer weather this coming weekend and next week. I did my exercise outside Tuesday after work and tackled another chunk of the Lakewalk. It seemed that everyone from the casual stroller to the serious runner were out on the Lakewalk.

Lake Superior & Duluth from the Lakewalk

I’m excited for tomorrow because my lunch buddy will be back in town! How does it happen that the week we could have our pick of lunch tables at the prime lunch time, she’s off across the country at a conference? Ah, it’s all good. I’ll get to hear about her trip at lunch tomorrow. đŸ™‚

All in all, it’s been a nice Spring Break. How are you celebrating the return of spring?

 

Leave a Reply

