Making 2012 Great

For 2011 I wrote a post about the resolutions I made for the year. I proceeded to dedicate a page on the blog to track said resolutions and I think that is the main reason why so many of them were accomplished. Here’s a quick reminder of my 2011 resolutions and if they were accomplished.

1. Set standards for job searching (& stick to them). Accomplished! Not only did I stick to my set standards for what I deemed the “research” phase of job searching, I had a job by the end of March. I got that job because I found the posting during my research phase (finding info on different institutions (i.e. size, affiliation, location, mission, etc.) so I wouldn’t waste time looking into a position at institutions that I knew I would never work for) and decided to apply even though I wasn’t necessarily in the “applying” phase of my job search.

2. Write at least 1 personal blog post each week. Accomplished through about September. Yeah, I wasn’t too happy that I let this one slip up in the final stretch of the year. I’m going to be working on it this year again. 🙂

3. Read at least 2 fun books a month. Accomplished, but on different terms. I didn’t exactly read 2 fun books a month. Some months, only one was finished. However, throughout the year, I did complete reading 24 books this year. I consider the resolution accomplished!

4. Live healthier (greener, eating better, increase exercise). Yes, in some spurts, but not really. Totally repeating this resolution for 2012.

5. Travel more, hike more, & photograph more. Accomplished! Took another road trip, explored the North Shore, heck, I even flew on an airplane for the first time. Hiking did increase in 2011. 2012 should be even better because I’ll be springing for a MN State Park pass, which will make my adventures much more cost effective. I photographed a lot more, too. I even bought a new point & shoot camera to get me through to when I can purchase a lovely Canon Rebel T2i.

6. Complete my graduate assistantship & program internship positions with strong commitment, professionalism, & thirsting for more. Accomplished! Yep, knocked this one out of the park. 🙂

Okay, so for 2011, I figure 4.5 out of the 6 resolutions, is not too shabby at all. Go me!

2012 Resolutions

As I’m looking at my list (for typing up), I’m realizing that I haven’t set any new resolutions for work. Ah, I’ll tackle that a different day. Most of my resolutions for this year are branches or extensions from last year.

1. Read 30 fun books this year with at least 15 of them being borrowed or already owned. I’m doing this for 3 reasons: to read more this year (no grad school to read for!), work on the library I already have, and to cut costs. I’m going to try to not spend as much money on books this year.

2. Complete at least 1 30 day photography challenge. I’ve already found a couple to choose from through Pinterest. So excited about stretching my photography muscles!!

3. Travel. I’ve got some fun stuff planned…such as San Francisco (thanks to work!). I also am excited to explore Duluth, the North Shore, and Minnesota in general this year. As I mentioned, I’ll be buying a MN State Parks pass. I’ll be able to utilize the parks for hiking, photography, and general enjoyment without having to pay a day use fee. I also want to check out Voyageurs National Park (only about 3 hours away) and the Apostle Island National Lakeshore over in Wisconsin. I also plan to spend my vacation time this summer visiting friends in Southern WI, instead of an extensive road trip for the 3rd year in a row.

4. Live healthier. I need an actual plan for this, this year. I want to do things such as: drink more water and less soda, incorporate more fresh food, complete some wellness programming through work, increase the amount of exercise/activity I complete, etc. I think the main motivator to actual kick this resolution in gear is that I truly want to rock my bridesmaids dress at my friend Jennifer’s wedding this summer. Those pictures are going to be around for a long time…I want to look decent. 🙂

5. Complete more pins on Pinterest. I have found so many cool projects, recipes, ideas, etc. on Pinterest and I’d like to do more doing, along with my pinning. No clue what Pinterest is or how to use it? Check out this cool tutorial: Pinterested.

6. Be a better blogger. This includes posting on a regular basis, keeping up with my blog reader, posting comments on other blogs, finding new blogs to read/try out, etc.

So, what do you think of my resolutions for 2012? I think they’re doable. They won’t happen over night, and I definitely will be doing what I can to make sure that I’m 6 for 6 in 2012. Yep, I’m pretty sure 2012 is going to be a great year!

Leave a Reply

