Top 11 of 2011

Posts, blogs, & books, oh my!

As 2011 is winding down, I wanted to review my favorite posts, blogs, and books read for the past year.

Posts
11. Sisterly Bonding: discovered Duluth with my sister during the 4th of July holiday
10. Power Vacationers: covers days 3 and 4 of the road trip my sister and I took out to the Dakotas in May. In these two days, we thoroughly explored the Badlands and Black Hills.
9. I’ve Graduated: celebrated earning my Master’s Degree
8. Photo Friday: North Shore of Lake Superior: I love the photos in this post. They cover Gooseberry Falls State Park, Split Rock Lighthouse Historic Site, and various pullouts along the road on the North Shore.
7. Growing Pains of Job Hunting: covered some of my ups and downs of the post-Master’s job search.
6. 100 Things for the 100th Post: shared some fun facts about myself while celebrating a blogging milestone.
5. Explore: #oneword2011: my life during 2011 explained with just one word.
4. My Best Day in Student Affairs: discussed why I love working in Student Affairs on a college campus.
3. Deciding to Be More in B’more: results of attending my first national professional association conference.
2. Things I’ve Learned at UW-Whitewater: summed up my 3 years of working at UWW while in graduate school.
1. How to Find Blogs to Read: top post in terms of number of direct hits this year.

Blogs (not in any particular rank order since I read these daily or as soon as something new is posted)
Peanut Butter Fingers: fitness, food, life, etc. 
Young House Love: DIY everything from a whole kitchen to art work
Bower Power: another young DIY couple & photography
First Class Great Outdoors: exploring the outdoors in style
Healthy Living in a Hectic World: healthy living, social media, technology
Iowa Girl Eats: so many awesome recipes!
Running off the Reeses: Texas girl who runs, loves chocolate, has a sassy dog, & is hilarious
Carrots n’ Cake: enjoying life while still being healthy
Becca Obergefell: I just love her writing, plus she is in student affairs.
Meals and Miles: fitness, food, life, fun, etc.
Anywhere There’s an Airport: expat now living in Spain after she found love

Books (some of my favorites read during the past year – again not in rank order)
Ranger Confidential: Andrea Lankford
The Lost Girls: Jennifer Baggett, Holly Corbett, & Amanda Pressner
Ansel Adams in the National Parks
The Help: Kathryn Stockett
My Life in France: Julie Child with Alex Prud’homme
Remember Me?: Sophie Kinsella
Sisterhood Everlasting: Ann Brashares
American Wife: Curtis Sittenfeld
The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost: Rachel Friedman
The Choice: Nicholas Sparks
Knit the Season: Kate Jacobs

What were some of your favorite things for 2011?

2 thoughts on “Top 11 of 2011

  1. Cassie says:

    What a list – I’ll have to take some time later and look through it. Looks like you’ve been a busy blogger. I look forward to reading more from you in the New Year!

Leave a Reply

