Be Thankful

With Thanksgiving just about here (only a half day of work left for the week!), I thought it would be appropriate to let you know what I’m thankful for this year.

The Basics: food, shelter, clothing, money, etc. These tend to be things I take for granted and I realize that I shouldn’t.

Family: without my family, the world would be a sucky place.

Julie & I in front of Mount Rushmore.

Friends: both new and old friends because they make life so much more interesting.

Maria (PhD student from Sweden who’s at UMD for about a month), Kendra (cousin-ish/lunch buddy at work), & me at Duluth’s Christmas of the North parade.

Ashley & I on the day of our Masters graduation.

Me, Jennifer, & Carissa at DCI Finals in Indianapolis in 2009.

Education: it has always been encouraged, supported, and embraced by the people who mean the most to me. A lot of work for a couple pieces of paper that allow me to pursue the career that I want. šŸ™‚

Job: I have finally started the profession I am meant to do. Yay!

Books: I love to read. Books allow me to be absorbed into a whole new world of characters and to travel to new places.

Camera: it allows me to capture the world as I see it, and provides me with a creative outlet to record my travels & experiences.

Vineyard in Washington

Sequoia in Hoyt Aboretum in Portland, OR

Leaf stuck in my parents’ deck.

Love of Travel: to explore and learn about a new place and allow it to add value to my own life. Travel allows me to return home a better person than when I left.

The Black Hills in South Dakota

Me with the world’s largest spruce tree in Washington state.

The Blog: I have a platform to share my thoughts and life experiences with family, friends, and everyone else. Now that I’m getting used to my work load at UMD, I’m hoping to spend more time on my blog.

What are you thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

