My Latest Obsession

My recent free-time obsession had the seeds planted a few weeks ago when I was writing a blog post about what next my professional plans were going to be. I made a reference to an episode of The West Wing and spent almost an hour on YouTube searching for a particular scene. The obsession was further fueled by a conversation with a co-worker that involved a reference to The West Wing…and then we were both talking about how much we enjoyed the show and missed it. If you haven’t figured out the obsession (obsession is actually a little strong, but that’s what I’m going with), it’s with watching The West Wing on dvd.

In Excelsis Deo Season 1 (Source)

Personally, I think TV on DVD was an incredibly smart invention. I have seasons of shows ranging from Gilmore Girls, to Will & Grace, to the short-lived Joan of Arcadia, to Glee, to The West Wing. Luckily, I have 4 out of the 7 seasons of WW on DVD and was able to satiate my thirst for the show right away. I’ve loved this show since the beginning, even though I’ll be the first to admit that my viewership dropped off a bit during parts of college. Have no fear though, I have since caught myself up on what I missed thanks to when Bravo used to show 2 episodes each morning during the week. Yeah, that needs to be brought back in my opinion.

(Source)

So, my question to you…What is your favorite show that makes you think?  WW was smart tv. It made government seem accessible to the average person. It was serious, it covered a range of topics, it was funny, and it was thoughtful. Some of my favorite actors/actresses were on this show, including: Bradley Whitford, Allison Janney (LOVE her!), Martin Sheen, and Kristen Chenowith (in the later years). While I loved all 7 seasons (okay, season 6 was a bit dry), season 2 is probably my favorite. There are so many episodes that I love.

  • In the Shadow of Two Gunmen (parts 1 & 2)
  • The Portland Trip
  • Shibboleth
  • Noel
  • The Leadership Breakfast
  • The Stackhouse Filibuster
  • 18th and Potomac
  • Two Cathedrals

This isn’t to say that I don’t have favorite episodes in other seasons. It’s just that season 2 has several favorites. I love how each episode makes me think either about the issue(s) presented in the episode or how the characters handled the issue(s). Okay…so I’m going to leave you with one of my favorite quotes from the episode Noel from season 2. It is the Christmas episode for the season and centers around the character of Josh who is going through a therapy session for his PTSD issues. It’s probably the counselor in me who loves this episode, but I love the flow of story. Plus, Yo-Yo Ma is on the episode! (Get the episode on iTunes) The quote is Leo talking to Josh after his session.

This guy was walking down a street when he falls into a hole. The walls are so steep he can’t get out. A doctor passes by and the guy shouts up, “hey you, can you help me out?” The doctor writes out a prescription, throws it down in the hole and moves on. Then a priest comes along and the guy shouts up, “Father, I’m down in this hole. Can you help me out?” The priest writes out a prayer and throws it down in the hole and moves on. Then a friend walks by. “Hey Joe it’s me, can you help me out?” And the friend jumps in the hole. Our guy says, “Are you stupid? Now we’re both down here.” The friend says, “Yeah but I’ve been down here before and I know the way out.”  (Source)

2 thoughts on “My Latest Obsession

    • ellenhatfield says:

      I think part of what makes the ensemble of characters so intriguing is the shared passion for the work. Which I think can be often related to areas of student affairs. Glad you liked the post Jeannette!

Leave a Reply

