Being a Freshman Undergrad 10 Years Ago

Excitement is in the air on college campuses around the country right now with everything from move-ins and welcome weeks to implementing new programs to classes starting. On my own campus, classes start in a week. The overall hum on campus has been building for the past couple weeks with various student groups returning to campus and my office being at full staff again. Personally, I’m very excited for the start of the new year so at I can get into the actual normal flow of my job. Yay! The start of the academic year has also gotten me thinking about the beginning of my own journey into higher education with my freshman year of undergrad being 10 years ago. I still can’t believe it’s been 10 years since I moved into Towers North hall at UW-Eau Claire. So, in the spirit of it being 10 years since freshman year, I thought I’d share 10 things that shaped that year for me.

  1. 9/11 happened during the second week of classes.
  2. I didn’t bring a computer with me…or cell phone…or a car. (I got a computer before the end of first semester and the cell phone & car came during sophomore year.)
  3. One room on my wing had a DVD player. One room!
  4. Freshman year was the last time I took a math class.
  5. I got to room with one of my best friends. Hey Megan, miss you!
  6. There were some awesome shows that were staples in our weekly routine, such as: Felicity, Gilmore Girls, and Dawson’s Creek.
  7. My intended career path at this point was human resources through a communication major. I also switched my emphasis in communication from Public Relations to Organizational Communication.
  8. I fell in love with UW-EC and it will always remain one of my favorite places.
  9. I survived the year by napping.
  10. I started my career in Student Affairs by landing my work study job in Career Services during one of the first weeks of classes.   

I was also in marching band, which was a lot of fun. I marched in the color guard. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Being a Freshman Undergrad 10 Years Ago

  1. Laura @ First Class Great Outdoors says:

    I took MY last math class my freshman year, too. Was not sad to see that subject eliminated from my regular class schedule 🙂

    It’s kind of funny that you say 9/11 happened as you began your freshman year, because it happened as I was finishing my (5th) senior year. I’m starting to freak out over the concept that this spring marks 10 years since graduating from UW-Madison. I can’t be that old 😉

    • ellenhatfield says:

      Wow, I was just having a few issues with it being 10 years since the start of undergrad, I can’t imagine 10 years from the end of it. I agree with your sentiment about math, I did not miss it one bit. However, I did have take a year of accounting…which was not fun.

  2. Julie says:

    Ellen,
    Awesome blog!! UW-Eau Claire (and marching band!) will also have a special place in my heart. The stuff you did sounds so different from what we do now, like watching the WB and not having a cell phone or DVD player. It sounds so simple. Have a good first week of classes!
    Julie
    P.S. It will be seven years since I started at UW-Eau Claire.

    • ellenhatfield says:

      Oh my gosh, it’s been 7 years since you started Julie?! Now, I’m definitely feeling old. 😉 You’re right though. So many of the things we take for granted now, weren’t as prevalent 10 years ago. And, in all seriousness, the WB was so much better than the CW. Good luck to you at UWM!!

Leave a Reply

