What Does a Book Say About You?

One of the many blogs I keep my eye on is the SA Women Talk Tech blog. Every Monday is “blog prompt Monday” where they propose writing topics for their readers. This week’s prompt had to do with books…one of my favorite things in the world!

The prompt: “What book are you reading right now? What is your favorite tech book? What is your favorite student affairs-related book?”

Current Read: The Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost: A Memoir of Three Continents, Two Friends, One Unexpected Adventure by Rachel Friedman

  • The author is recounting her experiences abroad (first in Ireland and next in Australia) during and after college. College is when her life fell apart because she fell out of love with playing music…which was the only career she had ever wanted to have. She was lost and didn’t know where she was going once she graduated from college. So far, I’m about half way through this book and am vastly enjoying it. It’s a true story. I bought it last month when I had a serious case of the travel bug and the book allows me to travel vicariously.
  • I’m also currently reading A Jane Austen Education by William Deresiewicz and Becoming Socialized in Student Affairs

Tech Book: skipping this one because I haven’t read any tech books.

Student Affairs book: Beginning Your Journey: A Guide for New Professionals in Student Affairs

  • I read this book last summer during my summer internship in Oregon. My supervisor had wanted me to read it. The content of the book gave me some things to think about and to prepare for while I was finishing up my last year of grad school and applying for jobs. Starting a job in Student Affairs (or even just Higher Education) is not typical, so it was nice to read somewhat of a guide book. The book Empowering Women in Higher Education and Student Affairs is patiently waiting on my bookshelf for me to pick it up and start reading. I’ve heard fabulous things about the book and I had the chance to meet the authors at the ACPA Convention in Baltimore this past March.

So what do my books say about me? I think they say that I’ve been on an adventure and memoir kick lately. I also have memoirs by Julie Andrews and Barack Obama waiting in the wings for me to read. I think my book choices also reflect wanting the be prepared and knowledgeable about my profession. Now that I’m a full-fledged full-time professional in student affairs…I want to do a good job. I want to contribute to the field and the best way to contribute is to know what’s already out there.

Now that I’m thinking about it, I think what I need to do is join a book club. I should put that down as one my goals for my first year in Duluth. 🙂

What book are you currently reading? What do you think it says about you?

Leave a Reply

