How to Find Blogs to Read

A lot of the content I read on the internet on a daily basis comes from blogs. I try to read from different genres related to my personal and professional interests.

So, you might be wondering, how does one find blogs to read? I assure you, this can be quite easy. If you already know of someone who blogs (a family member, friend, co-worker, etc), ask them for recommendations. If someone is already immersed in the blogging world, they’d be able to direct you to some of their favorite blogs. That same person you know who blogs, check out their blog because they probably have a favorites, links, or blogroll page. FYI: blogroll is just a fancy way of saying a list of blogs they enjoy. Another way to find blogs is to do a simple Google search. Pick a topic you want to read about (such as: student affairs, travel, photography, cooking, healthy living, etc.), put in that search term and add the word “blog” and you should come up with some places to start looking for blogs.

Here are some of my favorite ways to find blogs:

  • I started with a friend’s favorites page. We have similar interests so I thought I could find some good content…and I did! So basically, I love searching other bloggers’ favorites pages.
  • Blogs that are linked to in blog posts that I’m reading.
  • Twitter: Some of the bloggers I follow, I also follow on twitter. Often I will check out the content they are tweeting, or retweeting, for new blogs to read.

How do you evaluate if you want to commit to following a blog?

  • Read a current post or two. Do you like the rhythm of the author’s writing?
  • Check out their “about me” page. This should have great information including who the author is, their background, and the purpose of their blog.
  • Also check out the comments section of a blog post. Is the author interacting with their readers? And if so, are you liking the interaction you are seeing. You can think of following a blogger as if you were choosing to be their friend in real life. Would want to hang out with this person on a regular basis? If the answer is yes, you should probably follow their blog and leave some comments.

To get you started, here is a listing of some of my favorite blogs (and what they’re about). You can find a listing of some of the blogs I follow on my favorites page.

  • First Class Great Outdoors – Run by my friend Laura (hi Laura!) and she chronicles her journey to exploring the outdoors with some style.
  • Peanut Butter Fingers – Julie blogs about food, fitness, life, and her adorable dog Sadie. I love getting recipe ideas from her for everything from butterscotch brownies to smoothies.
  • Healthy Living in a Hectic World – Katy covers everything from fitness to social media to her life in general.
  • Carrots ‘n’ Cake – Tina looks at how you can have your carrots and eat your cake too. Plus, she just released a book (which I recommend) and she has a cute dog named Murphy.
  • Running off the Reeses – Cely has this way of adding humor to her posts (it’s the captions she adds to pictures) that always make me laugh out loud. Plus, she works in higher ed!
  • Anywhere There’s an Airport – Kristen chronicles her new life of living in Spain. I love the element of travel in her blog.
  • Young House Love – Sherry & John are a great couple who are DIYing their house and letting us have a sneak peak at all of their tips, tricks, successes, & slight disasters. I’ve gotten some good ideas from them for decorating my new apartment.
  • SA Collaborative – Student affairs professionals from a wide array of function areas contributing their ideas about the state of student affairs and higher education.

Now that I’m looking at this list, almost every single one of these bloggers has at least one dog (or more) that is adorable and highly featured on the blog. Maybe it’s my way of “having” a dog without actually having one. Who knows.

How do you find blogs to read?

One thought on “How to Find Blogs to Read

Leave a Reply

