Becoming a Better Blogger

When I started 2011, I had made a resolution to post on my blog at least once a week. I think I was hoping this would make me be more consistent with my posting. I’ve done fairly well with posting at least once a week. However, one week it might be on Monday and the next week not until Saturday night. I had intially thought once school was over and my time was freer that I would just start posting more…that really hasn’t happened either. Overall, I’ve been feeling a little lackluster with my blog this summer. I feel like I’ve gotten a few decent ideas and those ideas are translated into a post within a day or two. I’ve always worked by the philosophy of blogging when inspired rather than on some sort of schedule. There have been a few times that my posts have felt forced so that I could keep up with my resolution to post once a week. That is something I don’t want! I don’t ever want the blog to be something I feel forced to do. I want to enjoy it, and I also want you, the readers to enjoy it.

Earlier this week, I made the conscious decision to put more time into my blog and learning more about the world of blogging. I want to keep improving my skills in writing, engaging with readers, and contributing to the blogging world. This all starting to increase in momentum on Tuesday when I finally sat down to watch a webinar by Katy Widrick (an awesome blogger I follow) that I had made note of about a month ago when I was reading her blog (Healthy Living in a Hectic World). The webinar was 10 Tips for Killer Blog Posts. This was just the spark I needed to get the inspiration wheels turning!

On Wednesday when I has having lunch on my own at work. I was tempted to take a little power nap during the last 10 minutes of my lunch hour (it was beyond beautiful outside) and instead, I got out a piece of paper to start brainstorming ideas for blog posts. I was done with not having a bank of ideas to work with for my blog. The exercise reminded me of freewriting that I had to do in high school English classes. I came up with 9 solid ideas in 10 minutes. I didn’t think that was too bad for a first shot. The ideas in Katy’s webinar got me to start thinking about how I want to run my blog and create content that people will want to read. That night when I got home, I watched another one of Katy’s webinars (this one was also presented by Jess Milcetich) about branding. More wheels turning!

So, here we are. In the past week, I’ve come up with numerous ideas of content that I want include on my blog and I’ve set myself up with a posting schedule. I am planning to have posts on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays and I’m giving myself the freedom to alter that schedule if needed (such as if something really awesome happens over a weekend that I need to share!). I’m really excited about this more structured path I’ve put myself on in regards to my blog. I’m more of a structure person anyway. 🙂 To be honest, I think this need for structure was planting seeds earlier this summer when I bought a notebook specifically for my blog and writing ideas down. That notebook comes with me practically everywhere! I am also rather excited about the ideas I’ve started to come up with related to both student affairs and other things I’m interested in (i.e. travel, photography, blogging, etc.).

Do you have any ideas of content that you’d like to see on the blog? If so, email me (ellenchatfield@gmail.com) or leave a comment below!

One thought on “Becoming a Better Blogger

Leave a Reply

