Sisterly Bonding

This post is a bit over due. Here are some highlights for the 4th of July weekend when my sister came to visit me for the long weekend. We had a blast. She came up to help me work on getting settled in my new apartment and we also took in some of what Duluth has to offer.

We had brunch at At Sara’s Table/Chester Creek Cafe. My new office took me here on my first day so I had to share with Julie the awesome food and atmosphere.

This restaurant was featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives on the Food Network last year and we found the proof! They left a tag on the wall.

Brunch was delicious and we polished it almost all off. We were fueled and ready for the rest of our day. We headed down to Canal Park to walk along Lake Superior and to see if we could watch any ships going in or out of the canal. The suspension bridge has to be raised when anyone wants to go in or out of the harbor so it’s quite the ordeal. We saw several fishing boats, sailboats, and one ship while we were down by the water.

We also took a little walk in the lake. The water was chilly and felt so good!

The rest of the weekend was pretty low-key and consisted of shopping, going to a movie, and unpacking more of my stuff. All in all, a great weekend.

One last thing to share. One of my favorite things about Duluth is when you’re driving around you never really know what the view is going to be like when you come over the top of a hill. I love being surprised and I hope the random views of the lake never get old. I love that this (see photo below) can be the view when waiting at a stop light. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Sisterly Bonding

Leave a Reply

