Week 1: On the Job

This week has marked the first week of my new job as a Career Counselor for the University of Minnesota Duluth! Woohoo! I’ve been waiting so long for this week to come and it’s gone well. I don’t think I could have asked for a warmer welcome. Finally, I have my own office to decorate. It’s a little sparse at the moment and that will be changing in the weeks to come.

 

Can I just say, I love having the double monitor thing going on. It’ll come in handy when I’m meeting with students and am wanting to show them something online. I also have some shelves coming that I think will be going up on the wall somewhere. So what’s more exciting than my office…the name plate next to the door!

One of the neat things about UMD is that all of the buildings are connected to each other. This concept is so beneficial when you have weeks like the current one where it’s raining almost every day all day. I’m slowly learning my way around and I’m told that it’s just going to take a bit to get used to. The “building” that the career services office is located in is nicknamed The Wedge and for good reason…

 

It’s wedge shaped! Our office is on the right hand side along with financial aid and admissions.

I think it’s safe to say that the first week has been quite successful. One of the funnest things was that the staff took me out for lunch on my first day to a restaurant I originally saw on Food Network’s Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives called At Sara’s Table/Chester Creek Cafe. Yes, it has two names, and yes, it was awesome. They use a lot of fresh and local products in their menu and the atmosphere was great. I’ll be definitely be visiting there again because I had the most amazing chicken quesadilla. Yum!

Do you remember your last first day/week on your job? Was it better or worse than you anticipated?

5 thoughts on “Week 1: On the Job

    • ellenhatfield says:

      Yep Eric, it’s all part of the building. The color really plays with the natural light coming in from all of the skylights to give the building a nice warm feeling. Luckily, this area is just outside our main office door. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

