I Have a Job!!

Excitement of the week: I was officially offered (and accepted) a position as a Career Counselor at the University of Minnesota Duluth. In my last post I made a reference that my March had been busy and that I would fill you all in on later date. Well, today is that “later date.” This position was the very first one I applied for in the job search. I spent about 2 weeks revamping my resume, writing the cover letter, and formulating my philosophy of career counseling. Both of my supervisors were instrumental during the preparation of my application materials. Thank you Ron and Leslie!! Shortly after I applied (about a week or 2), was contacted about coming on campus for an interview. I was ecstatic! The interview went really well. I was impressed that not only was I given the opportunity to interview, but I also did a mock counseling appointment and a short presentation. I must have won them over with the Laffy Taffy I had for the presentation. 😉 Then I played the waiting game. When I was on-campus for the interview, I just fell in love with it. Duluth is so pretty and is right on Lake Superior. The people were super nice and I just got a vibe. Does that happen to anyone else? You’re somewhere and you feel like you just found your home? That’s seriously how I felt…and that was before I even interviewed! Last week was when I received the offer and today I finally received and accepted the official offer. The call came at the perfect time. I was having dinner with one of my best friends and I was literally jumping/skipping for joy on my way to internship class. I love that I was able to share it with Ashley. She’s probably one of the first people I would have told anyway, after my parents.

Now I just have to finish up internship, my graduate assistantship, and graduate…all in the next two months. Plus, I’m going to the ACPA conference in Baltimore this weekend and am hoping to head of to Duluth next week to look at apartments. It’s going to be a busy couple of months!! I’m loving it all though.

I guess the biggest take away I have from my short (I only applied for 2 positions…interviewed for both) job search is to gear your application materials as much as you can towards the position you are applying for. Also, get as much experience as you can while you’re in grad school. Don’t depend just on the experiences required for your program. Show that you can go above and beyond what is required by finding some of your own experiences.

I will leave you with a few pictures that I took while I was at the UMD campus. Oh, and the staircase pictures that I posted a couple weeks ago…those were at the UMD campus!

Solon Campus Center - My new professional home

Me walking around campus the evening before my interview.

2 thoughts on “I Have a Job!!

Leave a Reply

