Life in Limbo

As I look back on the resolutions I made for this year, I realized that I was really ambitious the first couple weeks of January. I think it was because I was so relaxed after a wonderful holiday season at home. I probably felt that I could get a lot changed this year. I’ve been able to keep up with most of my resolutions, but not necessarily up to the standards I had hoped. This semester (my last one of grad school!) has been rather taxing as it includes: grad assistant position at UW-Whitewater, internship position at UW-Madison (1 hour drive from Whitewater), job searching, preparing for attending the ACPA national conference in Baltimore, and having some sort of life separate from school…along with having a death in the family and participating in an on-campus interview 7 hours away from where I live. Basically, I’ve been busy. Plus, I’ve had this overwhelming sense of living in limbo for a bit. That feeling is coming from not knowing where I’ll be working or living for sure in a few months time. I’m torn, because I’m excited about where my journey in life will take me next and at the same time I feel like I’m having to leave people behind to pursue that journey. I was reminded today that there are friendships and connections that I’ve developed during grad school that I will deeply miss once I move on to my next chapter in life. I will be trying my hardest to make sure that the connections I cherish the most will continue on, regardless of where I’m living. That’s the beauty of the internet these days. There’s email, Facebook, Twitter, and, of course, my blog.

The month of March has been a bit crazy. I can’t wait to fully share why, and that has to be saved for another day. Today was officially the first day of Spring Break for UW-Whitewater. No, I’m not going anywhere glamorous. However, I did have a wonderfully quiet day complete with an almost 3 hour coffee/tea/chat with my friend Laura at my local favorite coffee shop, Sweet Spot. For the rest of “break,” I’ll be working a 40-hour week at my internship site (UW had break this past week) in hopes to accumulate a lot of direct-contact (with students) hours prior to flying off to Baltimore. That’s right, I’m going to Baltimore next week! I’m absolutely excited about this opportunity to travel eastward. I have a feeling that the ACPA conference will be a wonderful opportunity to do some solid professional development along with finally meeting in real life friends/student affairs colleagues from Twitter. Honestly, the best part of the conference is that fact that I’m going with my friend/classmate/co-worker Stephanie. We’re both very “E” and love that we get to attend the conference together. While we may not attend several similar sessions, we’ll have each other to help process what we learn in our sessions. Plus, by attending different sessions, we’ll both be getting twice as much information, as opposed to attending the same sessions. Each session time throughout the 3 days has 30-40 (I’m guessing) options for sessions. I think we’ll be able to manage to find sessions that we’re excited to attend.

That’s all I’ve got for now. This evening I got sucked into the Harry Potter weekend on ABCFamily and I started working on my change of address cards. I’m crafty, so I’m making them myself. I’ll be prepared once I finally know my new address. I hope everyone is enjoying the beautiful spring weather that’s been happening lately. I know I have! Oh, by the way, graduation is less than two months away!!

One thought on “Life in Limbo

Leave a Reply

