Happy Birthday To My Blog!

Today is my blog’s 1st birthday!

On March 4, 2010, I decided it was finally time to start my blog. This timing also happened to coincide with a summer internship offer from Eastern Oregon University. Since I was going to be far away from home for an extended period of time, I thought setting up a blog would be a fantastic way for family and friends to keep up with my adventures while I was out in La Grande, Oregon. Another bonus for starting my own blog was to take my blog writing experience from my “professional” life and utilize it for my “personal” life. For work, my blog topics are generally decided well in advance of the actual writing. I have found for Student Affairs Intern that I generally think of my topic right before I write about it. This blog has given me the opportunity to stretch my blog writing muscles. 🙂

My blog has definitely evolved through the past year. Initially I wanted to have a space to reflect about my internship experience in Oregon and continue that reflection as I completed my grad program internship at UW-Madison. I also wanted to be able to share my experiences for other grad students as they approached or were also completing internship experiences. Since travel and photography were huge components of my overall summer internship experience, those came through on the blog, too. Ultimately, my blog has become a place to share my internship experiences, travel experiences, photography, and other pieces of my life. I believe that there isn’t a way to separate “professional” life from “personal” life. True, there are boundaries, and I don’t think there is a clear, definite separation. If I were only to share the “professional” experiences in Student Affairs, I don’t think I’d be giving an accurate picture of who I am as a person and as a future Student Affairs professional. Therefore, my blog presents a composite picture of my life.

My internship experiences will be coming to an end soon (on May 14th to be exact) and that means the blog title of “Student Affairs Intern” is no longer valid. 😦 Don’t worry though, I’m not going anywhere! I don’t plan to stop blogging for a long time. Lately, I’ve been thinking about how I would like my blog to grow/change/reflect the next chapter of my life after graduation. So far, the next chapter just has some foreshadowing…I’ll be starting my Student Affairs career. For right now, I’ll just worry about what the new name should be. I plan to still highlight experiences within student affairs/higher ed, traveling, hiking, photography, and life in general. If anyone has title potentials, do share! I’m willing to entertain all the possibilities.

For now I’ll leave you with this little nugget of inspiration I found while reading an article for work yesterday: Be remarkable!

One thought on “Happy Birthday To My Blog!

Leave a Reply

