One Night in Madison

With how much time I’ve been spending in Madison for my internship, you’d think I would have taken in some other events on-campus besides work. Honestly, I really haven’t. This is sad for me because I believe that I should try to attend campus events as a way to support the university and the students I serve. However, grad school takes A LOT of time, so I’m hoping that the next position I’m in will allow me to enjoy university events more. Plus, with Madison, it’s an hour away from home and that takes away time from attending various events. This past Friday, I broke my streak and spent extra time in Madsion after I was done with work for the day. πŸ™‚ My friend Amy, who’s in my program and also works at UW-Madison, and I decided to take in a Badger Men’s Hockey game. My one goal for my time at the UW was to attend a hockey game. I started to enjoy hockey while I attended UW-Eau Claire as an undergrad. Now,Β I’ve reached my goal!! The game did not disappoint. While the Badgers did loose to the Gophers on Friday night, it was still fun and I had a great time hanging out with Amy.

The rink from our original seats on the 3rd level

Go Badgers!

Kohl Center jumbotron

Badgers Goalie – from our relocation seats! There were empty seats on the first level of seating, so we scooped those up during the 2nd period.

Face off!

Prior to the game, Amy and I had dinner at Buffalo Wild Wings on State Street. Yummy! It was nice to catch-up since we hadn’t seen each other in a few weeks. After dinner we had some time to kill and we decided to walk up to the capitol building to check out all the protesting that had been happening all week. It was very much a: we came, we saw, we support, and let’s go to the hockey game type of trip.

Protesters in the rotunda of the capitol building

I experimented with some night shooting. The capitol building was too gorgeous to pass up photographing it.

Another night shot.

Β 

One thought on “One Night in Madison

Leave a Reply

