My Favorite Space(s)

Monday brought along another blog prompt from the lovely ladies over at Student Affairs Women Talk Tech. It’s a fairly simple question, and it got me thinking.

   Prompt: Do you have a favorite place/space? Where is it? And why?

I decided to look at the concept of favorite space in 3 different ways because different types of spaces have different meanings. First is my work space. While I enjoy my office at UW-Whitewater, I enjoy the building that it’s in, even more. Career & Leadership Development is located in the University Center (UC) at UWW. The UC was remodeled before I came to UWW for grad school and reopened during the semester before I arrived. Because of working two jobs in this building during my first year of grad school, it became a second home. I worked here, had lunch here, worked on homework here, got coffee here, and on occasion took in some entertainment here (movies, musicians, events, etc.) Needless to say, I’ve spent A LOT of time in the UC. During that first year, I noticed that while the building had a general hum throughout the day, I didn’t think it was really the “hub” of campus – which is what a Union is meant to be. The building had been primarily off-limits for long enough that students altered their routines and really didn’t hang out in the building. Now, a couple years later, this building is hopping. True, it still has it’s quiet moments. However, for a majority of the day, students utilize the building as the HUB of campus. I love it. So much happens here.

My favorite hangout space: White House Coffee in La Grande, Oregon. White House Coffee opened about half-way through my stay in La Grande this past summer. It quickly became one of my favorite places to have a latte, sit in a comfy chair/couch and read in a book. Often, I’d run there during my lunch break just to get away from campus. The owners remodeled a huge white house and decorated it largely with pieces from local artists. Plus, the people who worked there were cool. Sadly, unless I go back to La Grande, I won’t be able to return to White House Coffee. However, I can stay connected through their Facebook page.

Interior of White House Coffee

Finally, my favorite outdoor spaceWallowa Lake State Park in Oregon. As with White House Coffee, I won’t be able to return here unless I visit Oregon again. 😦 I suppose you could say that I just love the mountains, and there was something special about this park. I spent an awesome day hanging out with EOU co-workers hiking while at the park. I loved when we were hiking up at the summit of one of the mountains in the park: Mt. Howard. It was peaceful and gorgeous. I just had to stop and take it all in.

View of the Wallowa Mountains from the top of Mt. Howard

I do want to let you know that I have a lot of favorite spaces near to where I live in Wisconsin. It’s just that the spaces I listed above really have had a lasting impact on me. What’s your favorite space?

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Space(s)

  1. Julie says:

    My new favorite space is my new car, a Ford Focus. It has plushy, high seats, a CD player, it tells the temperature, the heat and air conditioning work really well, and it doesn’t break down on the side of the road.

    Julie

Leave a Reply

