My Word of 2011: Explore

Over the past few weeks, I’ve seen various people on Twitter talking about their “word” of 2011. I hadn’t put much thought into finding a word to describe and shape 2011 for myself. I had my resolutions already, I was set. And then, I was asked what my word was. I didn’t have an answer, and it did get me thinking. Instead of having to rattle off my 6 or so resolution for 2011, how could I describe in one word what I wanted to accomplish during the year?

I found my word this morning. Explore.

Dictionary.com defines “Explore” as:

  • To traverse or range over (a region, area, etc.) for the purpose of discovery.
  • To look in to closely; scrutinize; examine.
  • To investigate into, esp. mechanically as with a probe.
  • To search for; search out.

I especially like the “discovery” and “investigate” pieces of the definition.

This year will mark the ending of one chapter of life (graduate school) and the start of a new chapter (starting my professional career in Student Affairs). I want to find out what the world has to offer me through this fantastic profession. I want to move to a new city and discovery the fun and neat things to do while living there. I want to meet new people. I want to travel. I want to photograph places and things, new and old. I want to see them all in a new way, through the lens of my camera.

I think “explore” is definitely my word for 2011.

What’s your word for 2011?

One thought on “My Word of 2011: Explore

Leave a Reply

