Banned Books Week

This week was Banned Books Week. As an avid reader, I pride myself on the fact that I read a variety of books. Granted, I do have a deep love for all things Jane Austen, but I read other authors and genres as well. When looking through the list of the top 100 Challenged/Banned books from the past 10 years, I’ve read 11 of them…17 if you count each book in the Harry Potter series. Besides Harry Potter, a few of my favorite novels are on this list: To Kill a Mockingbird and Fahrenheit 451. Whenever I read an article about someone wanting some book banned, it always makes me wonder. I wonder if that person has actually read the book they are trying to ban. Do the “bad” themes really outweigh the good themes that much?

I love how a book can transport you to a completely new world and how it can provoke how you think about things. I also love how a book can just be fun and allow a form of escapism from the “real world.” A good example of this is the Harry Potter series. Yes, they are fantasy books and are technically in the children’s section of the bookstore. However, my favorite themes from that series are family and friendship. Awesome theme from To Kill a Mockingbird: doing what’s right even if it’s not the popular choice. Great theme from Fahrenheit 451: censorship can be devastating. I could go on and on about books. I can’t wait until I’m done with grad school and I have the opportunity to do more reading for fun. Until May, I must wait.

So, I must know, how many of you are banned book readers?

One thought on “Banned Books Week

Leave a Reply

