Music to Work To

I cannot believe it’s been over a week since I wrote a post. Actually, I can believe it. This past week was the first week with my full schedule for the fall semester. I won’t lie, it was kind of brutal. Luckily, this coming week will be a bit lighter due to our internship class section being cancelled for Tuesday evening. I’m hoping to see the Glee premiere that night!

While I making my way through the week, I was continually reminded how integral music is to my daily existence. While I drive to Madison, I listen to upbeat music. This week’s main theme was music from Glee. When I’m in my office at Whitewater, Pandora is frequently on in the background unless I’m meeting one-on-one with a student or co-worker. For those who are unfamiliar with Pandora, it is an internet music service that allows you to create radio stations based off of songs, artists, or genres. It takes an artist (for example I have a U2 station) and creates a station of music including and similar to that particular artist. I have a high tendency to play music at my Whitewater office to try to drown out the noise going on outside my office. My office is located in the Warhawk Involvement Center in our University Center, and it’s a popular space for students to gather and hangout with friends that are in different student organizations. The Warhawk Involvement Center also houses several student organization offices, student government, my office, the community service office, and a number of resource centers. It’s a busy place and music helps me to focus on my work.

Back to Pandora. While in my office, my Pandora is usually set on a custom mix of a couple of stations. Over the past couple of weeks, that mix has been: Florence and the Machine, Ingrid Michaelson, and Snow Patrol (the last two stations also have heavy influences of Jack Johnson and Coldplay). Other stations are included depending on my mood: Kate Havnevik, Glee, U2, or Lady Gaga. I have found that I like calm mixed with some upbeatness.

Just a side note. I’ve been listening to Florence and the Machine since early this summer when her music was featured on So You Think You Can Dance. I’m not a band wagon jumper oner who just discovered her last week during the VMAs on MTV. Just wanted to clarify that. 🙂

What music drives your daily work?

Leave a Reply

