New Internship, New School Year

The new school year has officially begun. Classes started yesterday at UW-Whitewater and it was awesome to have the familiar hum of activity return to the University Center where my office is located. I’m sure most other student affairs professionals would agree that the beginning of the year is a fantastic time. My reasons: there’s a brand new group of students on campus and everyone is so full of potential.

This week, I also started my internship position at UW-Madison in the College of Letters & Science Career Services office. All I have done so far is training and I’m already super excited about the coming year. I hope to really further develop my career counseling skills. I love a good challenge. I definitely know that I’m going into the right field because after I completed the start of a mock appointment with a freaking out PhD German Musicology student, I said it was fun! The challenge with this internship position is just getting to and from the campus itself. What I have figured out so far involves an hour drive, some walking, and a bus ride into campus. I guess I’ll find out if I like commuting this year. That will be a great thing to know going into my job search later this year.

What is your favorite part of the start of the new school year?

2 thoughts on “New Internship, New School Year

Leave a Reply

