What’s on Your Reading List?

One of the things that I absolutely love to do is to read books for fun. Reading and education were always a part of my house while growing up. I still remember my dad reading the “Misty of Chincoteague” books (about horses) to me before bedtime. Right now, in my one bedroom apartment, I have 3 FULL bookcases plus a few full boxes of books down in my storage room.

Since I’ve been in grad school the past few years, pleasure reading general gets reduced to 10-15 minutes before I go to bed. Luckily, I’ve been able sneak in days here and there when all I do is sit and read a book. I love those days, just getting entranced by the world that a writer has created. I have a few “problems” when it comes to books. I LOVE bookstores and adding to my library. Either I read the book right away or it gets put on the bookshelf for a later date…sometimes for a much later date. Then, I’ll finish a book and then can’t decide which book to read next. Not a bad problem to have, I suppose.

Here’s what has been on my reading list lately:

  • Just finished “A Walk in the Woods” by Bill Bryson. Mr. Bryson chronicles his journey of hiking the 2,200 mile Appalachian Trail. Interesting with comedic moments.
  • I’m working on finally finishing “Bono: in conversation with Michka Assayas.” I started this last spring and accidentally left it in WI when I went to Oregon for the summer. It’s about the awesome U2 frontman, Bono. He’s just an amazing person and I would love to meet him someday (I can almost guarantee that it won’t happen though).
  • Also reading: “The Photographer’s Eye Field Guide” by Michael Freeman. It’s about travel photography and I really wish I had found this before all of my traveling this summer.
  • Recently purchased: “Theodore Roosevelt: A Life” by Nathan Miller. Started reading a bit on my way home from Oregon. Bought it at Theodore Roosevelt National Park.

What else do I love? I adore Jane Austen. It’s a pity that she was only able to write a handful of novels. I still have Mansfield Park and Northanger Abbey to read of hers, along with a few biographies. I also have a few books waiting in the wings for professional development purposes at work. One book is on green careers and another about using counseling skills in student affairs.

So, here’s my question to you: What’s on your reading list?

Leave a Reply

