EOU Internship Week 5: Thank You!

Another week of my Eastern Oregon University internship has come and gone. It was a rather quiet week for me because my supervisor was on vacation all week. With other people in the division also on vacation, several of my projects came to a slow crawl because I’m waiting for everyone to get back from vacation. On the plus side, I was able to do a lot of professional development reading this week. I continued reading in the Beginning Student Affairs book that I’ve been working on since the beginning of June and also read about social media, leadership education, and other various topics. I also found several articles that I would like to read at some point ranging from ethics to assessment to greek life.

A topic that came up several times in multiple spots was mentoring. Essentially, a mentor is an established person in a profession helping to develop a person who is just starting a profession. I started thinking about the “mentors” in my own life. I realized that I didn’t formally seek out any of them. The relationships formed naturally in the workplace, in the classroom, and in life. I don’t think it’s realistic to have just one mentor. One mentor cannot possibly meet all the needs of a mentee. I have come to cherish vastly different mentors in the various venues in my life. To all of you, whether you are mentioned here or not, I just want to thank you for every piece of wisdom you have passed on to me. I honestly would not be the person I am today without you. My, reading that back to myself, it sounds kind of corny. Oh well, it’s all true. I don’t think people take enough time (or make enough effort) to thank those who make an impact on their lives. I hope that through time, these mentor/mentee relationships will continue to grow.

Now I want to take the time to thank those that mean the most to me. Some of these folks are in student affairs and others are a part of my life outside of work.

– To my mom and dad: thank you for showing me what hard work is, what it’s like to have a loving, caring, and encouraging environment to grow up in, and for all of the endless support you give so unconditionally.

– To my sister: you are so intelligent, expressive, funny/goofy, and I love to just hang out with you doing nothing. Thank you for always being there, no matter what. Even if it’s to go see Harry Potter movies! This month is going to be so long without you!

– To Ron: thank you for being a supervisor who challenges me each day. Thank you for letting me be a part of transforming the graduate assistantship position. I’m looking forward to the next year in Career & Leadership.

– To Kathy: thank you for our morning coffee/breakfast chats. I’m missing them greatly this summer while I’m away. I always know who to go to if I have a question, whether it’s about work or not.

– To Laura: I don’t know where to begin. Working with you on internship projects this past year was great. I learned a lot. I mostly want to thank you for instilling a sense of adventure in me – especially going into this internship in Oregon. Your own journey of becoming more intune with nature and the outdoors has rubbed off on me a bit. Nature is a beautiful thing and needs to be observed and cherished. Thank you for helping me enjoy my summer “adventure” even more than I knew was possible.

– To Ashley: thank you for being an amazing friend. My grad school experience would be so different without you. I know that you will do great things with your future! Thank you for continuing to challenge me in ways probably neither one of us even realizes.

– To the Student Affairs professionals I have met online: thank you for sharing your wisdom and experiences of the field. I hope to meet you in person some day to say thank you.

– To everyone else: I apologize that I didn’t mention you individually. That would be an extremely long blog post. Thank you. For everything and anything. I’m reminded of what my professor Brenda said to me during practicum last fall: “you are only a part of your client’s journey.” Thank you for being a part of my journey, no matter how short or long you’ve been a part of it.

Okay, sappiness over. I hope you all have a wonderful 4th of July weekend. Enjoy the sun and summer weather! I know I will be as I am spending the whole weekend in Portland. I’ll post some pictures when I get back.

3 thoughts on “EOU Internship Week 5: Thank You!

Leave a Reply

