I Got the Travel Bug

In the past few months I have been getting the urge to do some traveling around the United States. That urge is what prompted the idea to have a summer internship a couple thousand miles away from home. I started curing my travel bug with a few short trips. In August 2009, I went to Indianapolis for the Drum Corps International World Championships with a few friends of mine. It was the first time in 6 years that the three of us had been together. This trip was great because at one point, we all taught color guard together. The trip was fantastic and the huge bonus was that one of our former students aged out of Blue Stars.

This past weekend, I got to travel with friends again and attended the Winter Guard International (WGI) World Championships in Dayton, OH. The four of us on the trip have been a part of the color guard world for many years, ranging from participant, to instructor, to avid spectator. The trip to Dayton was a blast. Never have I been able to say that I watched 58 color guard shows in one day. Yes, I saw 58 different shows on Saturday. Today, I am back to the “real world” of student affairs and life as a graduate student. The 5 days were a nice reprieve from the hectic world of working with students, writing papers, taking exams, and making progress on projects. Now that vacation is over, I’m ready to tackle the rest of the semester with some gusto.

With finishing up the Dayton trip, I can focus on my road trip out to Oregon prior to starting my internship at Eastern Oregon University. I’m going with my friend Jenny. She’s awesome to travel with because we both like stopping at random places along the way. For instance, we have already decided we are stopping at the Potato Museum in Idaho to see the world record potato. Now that we are planning our trip we are finding so many cool things to do. So far our list includes:

  • Badlands National Park
  • Black Hills National Forest
  • Mt. Rushmore
  • Crazy Horse Monument
  • Custer State Park in South Dakota
  • Yellowstone National Park
  • Oregon Trail locations
  • Pacific Ocean
  • Possibly Olympic National Forest and Forks, WA (Yes, we are both Twilight fans – not fanatics though)   
  • Portland, OR and the Portland Walking Tours 

There is so much to see and do and definately not enough time. I will keep you all updated as our planning continues throughout the next month. If you have suggestions of must-see locations between Wisconsin and Oregon – please let me know!

Leave a Reply

