How I Found my Summer Internship

To put it simply, I found my summer internship with Eastern Oregon University by networking. For about a year I have been a member of the professional organization, American College Personnel Association. By browsing the member directory in different states, I found people to contact. My first contact was by email. I explained who I was, briefly what I was looking for, if they knew of any opportunities, and if need be, if they could direct me to the best person to talk to about an internship. I received a variety of responses and most of them were helpful. EOU emailed asking for a resume and the rest is history. Other approaches I was using included talking to my professors about who they knew in Higher Education and also looking for posted positions on the internet. As I keep telling students, networking works!

One thought on “How I Found my Summer Internship

Leave a Reply

